Saturday Sharing-Homemaker or Homeworker Edition

Mr. Internets is making me a little peeved today. He is moving mighty slow and having much delay when I type. Is it computer issue or internet issue? I am guessing internet since it is every computer device that is feeding off of our wireless router. Any way….

For today’s Saturday Sharing I am spending ginormous amounts of time studying. I have two projects due for class this week and that is requiring me to sit down and work and that is okay. What I do to get through those long working weekends is bake for breaks. So this morning I have been baking, but mostly simple things for right now. It will get more complicated the more stressed I get.

Baking Sharing

First off, yesterday my #1 went on a field trip to get in touch with our local swiss heritage at a Swiss Heritage Village. Okay we have none but around here everyone has some so you gotta claim it. They way she did is a huge vitamin bottle filled with corn that is milled here in the village. She maybe even milled it. I am not sure. Her best friend came home with her and has been here since so details are scant. But what she did say when she handed it to me to make was, “Oh my gosh Mom, we made it! It tasted so wonderful! It was super sweet. Can we please make it?” My OCD screamed hell no. There was no sanitary wrapping around this said milled bottle of corn it was open for all the public to see and touch. But I am a good Mommy and told my OCD to go away and I baked our first batch today. It smells awesome. I’ll let you know later how good it is or isn’t later.

Secondly, I made the official Rice Krispie Treats because we had marshmallows that needed used and a half eaten huge box of the official Rice Krispies that need to be used. Now I can bake some very complicated recipes. I am actually a better baker than cooker but I always mess up the simple things like rice krispies. Funny isn’t it? So the guy jumped in and ran the ship and I was the pourer. While listening to # 3 declare about 1000 times, “I lub trispy treats.”

Thirdly, I will later bake my first apple pie of the cooler season. Apple pie is kind of my thing. People request it for parties and I am just know around these parts for it. I don’t know why I got the apple pie cooking gene but I did and I do enjoy making them. In the fall, my neighbors and friends just know they are coming. I buy many many apples from Bruick Brothers Orchard and bake pretty much through the holidays. Here is my recipe from food.com:

Illinois Apple Pie

Crust

      1. 2 cups of all purpose flour
      2. 1/4 teaspoon salt
      3. 1 cup Crisco shortening
      4. 1/2 cup ice water
      5. 1/4 cup milk
      6. 1/4 cup sugar, white

Apple Filling

    1. 6 cups tart apples, peeled & sliced
    2. 1/2 cup sugar
    3. 1/2 cup brown sugar
    4. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    5. 2 tablespoons lemon juice
    6. 1/4 teaspoon salt
    7. 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (I always omit because I don’t like nutmeg)
    8. 1 tablespoon butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. For crust,combine flour and salt in mixing bowl.
  3. Cut in shortening with pastry blender or 2 knifes until mixture is uniform.
  4. Add water; toss lightly with a fork until dough forms a ball.
  5. Divide dough into 2 parts.
  6. On lightly floured surface,roll bottom crust into circle 1/8″ thick and about 1 1/2″ larger than inverted 9″ pie plate.
  7. Gently, ease dough into pie plate,being careful not to stretch dough.
  8. Trim edge even with pie plate.
  9. For apple filling:Combine all ingredients in mixing bowl.
  10. Stir until mixed well.
  11. Spoon into unbaked pie shell.
  12. Use remaining half of dough to roll top crust,as instructed for bottom crust.
  13. Lift onto filled pie.
  14. Trim 1/2″ beyond edge of pie plate.
  15. Fold top edge under bottom crust;flute as desired.
  16. Cut slits or design in top crust to allow steam to escape.
  17. Brush top crust with milk;sprinkle with white sugar.
  18. Bake at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.
  19. Reduce heat to 350 degrees; bake an additional 25 to 30 minutes or until crust in golden brown.
  20. Cool and serve

And because I never allow recipes to just be and I always have to make them my own I totally don’t follow the cooking part. I don’t like to bake my pies at that high of a temp. Therefore, I always bake for about and hour or hour and half at 375. As well, I find that using two varieties of apples creates a sweeter more tart taste. I honestly think that is my secret to this pie and why people like it. As well, you can always play with apple amount. Sometimes I like the pie to stand high and sometimes I make it all cute and accordion like.

As for my surfing for the rest of this week? It was non-existent. I have been grading my students first series of writing, working on reading for my classes and just trying to keep my house some what livable. Throw in a few headaches, workouts and naps and well surf time was limited.
_____________________
Get a glimpse of where I surf regularly? Go to Saturday Sharing.
Leave a Reply

