Egg in a Basket, Chicken in the Hole, Egg in the Hole, Chicken in a Basket

You can call it whatever you want but I call it good. When I tell people I love this I get the most comments and questions on what exactly it is. I have realized it also has many varying names.

After reading several cooking blogs I realized I have one major flaw here. I don’t offer up much of a recipe. When I thought a little longer about it I am kind like of like Sandra Lee on Food Network (but cooler right?…No tablescapes for me). What we do have in common is how we handle a recipe. We simplify and don’t sacrifice taste. So I apologize for the lack of 50 ingredients. No time. My recipes are always opened up for you to make it work for you.

So we have today I am making my family’s version of Egg in a Basket. I grew up with this and I still make it. The only added touch is my guy’s grandmother’s biscuit cutter bent and all.

You need a biscuit cutter (or cup works) 2 slices of bread, 1 tbsp of butter (cooking spray will work if you want healthier), dash of salt and pepper, 2 eggs and a frying pan.

Take your cutter and cut out the dough in the middle of the bread leaving a “basket” for your egg.

Melt your tablespoon of butter and run all pieces of bread through it so they toast. Crack your two eggs right into the center of your “basket”. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook your egg to preferred doneness. I usually like no creamy whites but a creamy yellow usually 4-5 mins. Sometimes I flip sometimes I don’t depending on my mood. Make sure your whites are cooked to avoid food borne illnesses.

Serve up with a fruit cup and glad of orange juice and you have a nice breakfast. YUMMY!

Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, shared something similar on her foodnetwork show.

Leave a Reply

