Choosing to be Phenomenal.

This post is dedicated to all women and the trials we go through every day. Some of us battle for our children, some of us battle our doctors and some of us battle the sheer thought of looking at ourselves in the mirror. The roles we were born into are handed down generation to generation and we determine if they need changed. Sometimes those roles are too hard to change and but we resist in those small little non-suttle ways.

I am surrounded by women every day and their stories take my breath away. Some with children who just want to fight for the healthiest diet for their families even if it means listening to one more kiddo whining about another green vegetable. Some who are heading to another doctor to hear another disastrous outcome of their cancer but choose to smile anyway. Some who paved the way for women like you and me to go and be who we want in this world and do so peacefully.They did it all because it felt right not to get the recognition they so rightfully deserve. These women, they amaze me. They are me.

Each morning when I wake up and know I am raising three phenomenal women myself I have to make that choice to live my life the way I hope they will. To better themselves, to better their communities and to better the world. If I sit down in the grass and give up when life gets hard what does that teach? If I don’t like what I see in the mirror what do I show them? It is a choice I make every day to be the phenomenal woman I can be so they can too.

Yesterday was pathetic. It was pathetic for so many reasons but in those still moments I had (and there were few) I chose to be happy. I chose to be glad I am a woman. I chose to love the roles I was born into and decided to stay in. It wasn’t always easy, but I did it and when I couldn’t do it I asked for help from those phenomenal women in my life.

I didn’t worry that I would look like I fell short. I tried not question how my decisions looked to those around me. I just trusted and had faith that the women in my life that I chose to surround myself with would pick up where I left off and do so with the very ability that I see them walk with every day and hope that I can one day do the same.

I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need for my care.
’Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
2 thoughts on “Choosing to be Phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

