Saturday Sharing Courtesy of my 2 year old

I imagine this AM I am the only parent not getting to sleep in. Daylight savings is a day us parents love because we get to fall back an hour which means extra sleep. “No kiddos, it is not 8 AM yet.” Not me though. Instead I have little girl with a croupy wheezing sounding cough. We had a fun filled night of her fussing straight through the night with a few intermissions for a nap. I am not complaining though because I like the occasional sleepless night because 1) I get to have my baby back and 2) because I am reminded why another baby will never be in my future again and I am okay with it. Eventually at 5 I gave up and checked out what Dr. Google had to say about my raspy 2 year old with labored breathing. Basically, I looked up when to panic. The good news….we aren’t there yet. I do believe we are looking at croup and that as long as she stays just as miserable as she is a short little visit (one could hope right?) to our local redi-med type place should take care of her. I just hope for more sleep for the two of us tonight. Can you talk about tonight when it is still last night? Look folks I am delirious.

So my Saturday sharing starts with….

I had my girlfriend over today so it was all about the food. I made snacks galore. I wanted to share those recipes.

Recipe Sharing

The first….

Was Spinach Artichoke Dip. Which was so good. The first time I typically make a recipe I follow the instructions. Then once I eat it I begin MR’ing it. Making it my own. For mine, I would up cheese, up garlic and lower spinach. It offers nothing to the dip other than the possibility of ending up in your teeth. As well, it goes much better with tortilla chips versus crackers. I would also add some pepper for a little after heat. Not a lot just enough to let you know you ate it.

The second…

A fallback classic in mexican cheese dip with about 100 variations. Mine own is just Velveeta, hormel chili-no beans and I had green chiles. Sometimes I will add milk for a thinner dip or jalapeno’s for a hotter dip. However, last night there were children involved and I was not sure if that was a good idea. The funny thing is they didn’t even eat any. I could have added heat to my heart’s content. Serve with tortilla chips.

A recipe in my in law’s family for Barbequed Meatballs and Weenies…

Slice up 1/3 cup of sweet onion, toss in half a tbsp of butter or margarine in a pan and melt. After it melts toss in sweet onions (some people could and might add green peppers here-not me! Hate them!) and turn in pan till translucent. Add in one can of tomato soup (I use healthy request), 2 tbsp of brown sugar, 4 tsps of Worcestershire sauce, 1 tbsp of vinegar and 1 tbsp of yellow mustard. Mix it all together. Pour over meatballs, small wieners or I just cut up hot dogs in a smaller casserole dish and bake at 350 for 20 mins. Or you can toss into crock pot and let cook on low for a few hours. In my experience usually they are done after about 2. Serve with toothpicks.

I don’t particularly care for store bought meatballs so I adapted a recipe many years ago as in probably 15 years ago. It is an oldie but a goodie and it is a MR recipe.

Last But Not Least-MR’s Meatballs

Get a bowl out and place hamburger into it. I like a leaner hamburger. Some might like the fattier versions. I just hate have bits of fat or gristle in my meatballs. Chop up onion to your taste. If you like more do more, if you don’t slim in down. I don’t like large slivers of onion so I slice them very thin. I usually shoot for 1/3 cup of onion. Toss into a bowl. Toss an egg into a bowl (2 if you really care they they bind, but one usually does the trick for me). Add in some sort of tomato product depending on how you will be using them. If for spaghetti, spaghetti sauce. If for Mexican something or nother, salsa. For my purposes in this recipe I used about two or three tbsps of the tomato soup. Or I think tomato paste, ketchup or sauce would have worked. Toss in minced garlic to preference. If you are going Italian maybe more and if you just want that flavor a little less. Add pepper-I usually do 2tsps. You can add cheese now too if you want. For this bbq recipe cheese won’t work but it would for spaghetti and meatballs. For the bbq recipe I add in 2 dashes of Worcestershire sauce.

Now get a separate bowl out and add in two pieces of bread. Pour about half a cup of milk over them. Let them soak. Once it is all soaked up. Squeeze out all the excess milk until they are mostly empty of it. Tear it up and toss into the meat bowl. Mix with hands but be careful to not over mix. Create meatballs to your specifications. For this recipe smaller works better. For subs or spaghetti you might want a bigger one. Bake for about 25-30 minutes at 350. Or until they are not pink in center. The good news is these freeze very well and 1lb usually will make a ton.

The best thing about my meatball recipe is it versatile. It can played with and you can add flavors and take away flavors. The only compensation you have to watch for sometimes is moisture or dryness. If they seem one or the other add an ingredient like more bread or oatmeal for moisture or tomato base of some sort for dryness.

My last sharing…Treating Croup.

If there is one thing you hear parents say about croup. It is usually there is no mistaking it. The cough, the breathing they are all very unique to croup. #1 had it once and #2 never had it. Now I do believe, as I said above, my #3 is nursing it. This is great site to look at for deciding what to do. For me it helped avoid that 3AM ER run. I honestly think she will be sufficed to go when our urgent care center opens. Poor little peanut feels bad though.

__________

Get a glimpse of where I surf regularly? Go to Saturday Sharing.

Leave a Reply

