This one’s about my guy!

I truly am a lucky woman! I know this. I am still so incredibly in love with my husband. He makes me laugh daily and is always a guaranteed smile. The other day I received and email on facebook from a gentleman who worded it similarly to this:

Hello Miss/Ms. Rhetoric, I have no idea if you know this person but I am looking for a great guy by the name of My Guy Rhetoric. I worked with him many years ago and man I liked him. He had such an awesome cynical humor about him that just made me laugh. So today I was sitting around at work thinking about him and wondering what he ever did with his life. I am not sure if you even know him. You were just someone I could find that lived in Indiana with the same last name.

And boy did I giggle. I giggled because that exact same cynical sense of humor is what drives me crazy about my guy. Don’t get me wrong. I, too, loved it when we met. He often says out loud the the real things people think. Whereas, I am too wimpy to do it (unless of course I am on here). There is no gray with my guy. It is all very black and white and I am so gray it makes him crazy. Over time and years sometimes I think he is so negative about things and get frustrated because he never sees a silver lining (he would tell me one never existed). But to see it put in this way by this stranger to me reminded me why I love my guy and made me smile.

My # 2 is just like him. She does not understand or get the pussyfooting around about people’s feelings or even care what they think. I absolutely adore that about both of them. Because as I have said before I am not that way. I want to be, I wish I was but I have to be pushed there. They just naturally go there and really do it with grace and purpose because they are worried less about what others think.

Now that might be misconstrued as cruelness or brutal honesty and I am not sure that is what it is. I am brutally honest to a fault. I can find fault in anything and everything. It is be true to yourself and following that lovely mantra: “Say what you mean and mean what you say.”

I have been with my guy for 15 years. I have loved him every single one of those fifteen years. He has faithfully always loved me back even when I didn’t make it easy because I didn’t understand the cynicism or couldn’t appreciate it. He is not afraid to work so I can take care of our children primarily. He is not afraid to go out and do what needs to be done to take care of us.

As we bring in another New Year together I am gonna stand back grateful for him and for what he has given me. So thank you unknown stranger for reminding me what a wonderful guy my guy is.

One thought on “This one’s about my guy!

  1. Awe, what a great post! πŸ™‚ I love great love stories and you’ve got one. Here’s to many more New Year’s together.

Leave a Reply

