You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

I have been sick. Sick with what you may ask? And I would answer. I don’t know. I can’t say this doesn’t feel good, or this doesn’t feel good. Instead, all I have to offer is I have a high fever and I feel wretched when it hits. I have had a fever for approximately 15 days.

On day 2, I was in the ER and diagnosed with a poorly timed (because of surgery) viral infection. I was lead to believe a few days of rest and I would be good as new and warned to watch for secondary infections. And maybe that worked till this past Tuesday. I sat in class and felt it as my temp revved up and my feeling declined. We toy’ed with the ER but really my ER sucks. We called the on call dr who suggested calling family physician.

Fast forward to Thursday still feeling like rancid dead meat and called family doc. Was encouraged to be “tougher” and it could take upto 14 days with much emphasis made out that day 14 I would be 100% spot on all better. Friday, I could barely get myself out of bed because of the pain in my joints from my fever. Through the day I felt more and more declining. So I called my gyn who performed the surgery and told them everything. They immediately told me to go to bed, started an antibiotic treatment, drink drink drink and call Monday with an update.

My update…I am five doses in. Still running fevers between 100-102. My joints ache like I cannot even describe. I woke up today hopeful that it would be better. I typically am an attitude person. A good attitude a good feeling so I tried to have a good attitude and it felt good…for awhile. Went to do my grocery run (the first in almost two weeks) and felt gaggy. Wouldn’t you know it I puked massive amounts while driving safely on the road. Came home ate lunch and spiked a fever of 101. I went to my bed and quietly cried because at this point it doesn’t feel like I will ever feel better. I never get sick and I have never felt this poorly in my life.

I am counting down the minutes until I can call that doctor’s office tomorrow and update them. And deathly afraid I will be told to toughen up. Especially given the fact that It has been over two weeks now that I have been feeling down. I feel horrible and I have been missing from here because what free time I have had where I felt slightly able to produce I did homework, grading or took a shower.

4 thoughts on “You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

  1. I can’t even imagine how you’re feeling. I can’t stand to be sick for a day!!! Ugh When you’re all better you need a night out. 🙂

  2. Shannon, you need medical attention. I understand if you don’t want to go to the ER; it’s a pain, it’s expensive, and in your case it sounds like you would not get good care. Call first thing tomorrow morning and absolutely INSIST that they see you that day. Do not allow them to tell you to “toughen up.” If they give you that line of crap, tell them that you have been “toughing it out” for over two weeks, you are unable to meet the demands of your job (because being a student and TA *is* your job), you can’t take care of your children, and that you have been living like this for two weeks too long. Tell them all that has happened this weekend as well, and if you have to, you can always remind them of how expensive a malpractice lawsuit would be if they did not treat a serious illness.

    If they *still* won’t see you (and I really think they will), go to the ER. Come up here to the fort if you have to. Hell, I’ll come down and get you after I finish teaching tomorrow morning, if need be. Do you have my cell?

    I am deadly serious about this, Shannon. Something is wrong, and I am very worried about you.

  3. Oh my gosh, I am so sorry! I have been wondering about you the past couple of days. I feel so bad for you b/c I have been through some of it (not quite as bad, but bad enough to feel for you). I hope it passes and I will check in on you. Get some rest!

  4. Geesh girl! I knew you didn’t feel good, but your texts didn’t give all this info! I am so-so-so sorry you feel this bad! Please let me know what I can do to help you out!!! You do not need to “toughen” up, you need someone to actually listen to you and get you better!

Leave a Reply

