Valentine’s Day Nummies!

I warn you ahead of time. This recipe is my mother in laws and no one can make a cookie like my mother in law. The story in my guy’s family is that no one can make cookies like my mother in law. Even though we all try. We all use the same recipe, same ingredients but she just does something we don’t apparently. But what this recipe will produce is so good regardless. The nice part about these is they are soft. They don’t turn out like your typical cut out cookies that get hard a day or so later. Normally, I just let my mother in law make for the above reason. But circumstances didn’t allow for that for this Valentine’s Day so we tackled them. Around here cookies are always a family affair. Especially these.

Cut Out Cookies

  • 1 cup of butter softened
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream (I like Daisy brand)
  • 3 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1 tsp of soda
  • pinch of salt

Cream together all the wet ingredients. Refrigerate overnight preferably but a few hours will work too.  Roll out to half inch (or desired thickness) and use favorite cookie cutters. My secret tip here is lots of flour so it doesn’t stick. Flour your surface, flour cutters and flour the dough ball generously.

When they cook it will absorb some and then what isn’t absorbed can be easily brushed off.  Bake @ 350 degrees for 8 minutes. Cook until bottom is golden and not really edges.

Cool and then ice and decorate as desired.

This is an excellent recipe for kiddos to make and my kiddos and I always make a big deal out of these. Though this year it was more about just getting them made. But it was still just as fun!

Leave a Reply

