I am not that girl….not her either.

I am not sure if it is because I am a college student and surrounded with so many searching souls trying to figure out who they are or if it just me. I can tell anyone and everyone exactly who I am not more clearly than I can ever pronounce who I am. Why is that? At 35 I should have some of my identity figured out right? But instead I say more times than I care to count what I am not…

  • I am not that girl that does diets. I hate diets. I hate the way they make me feel when I fail miserably. I eat what I want. Use my brain and exercise.
  • I don’t like when people tell me what to do. It makes things uncomfortable in those moments when I believe someone is telling me what to do but I am not her either.
  • I am not that girl that wear froo froo dresses and pretty pink nail polish. I am a tom boy and always more comfy in t-shirt/jeans/shorts.
  • I don’t pretend to know nothing when it comes to cars, fish guts, all things gross and slimy. I am not her either.
  • I am not that girl that gets my nails done, get messages, or needs to be pampered regularly. I just don’t.
  • Science fiction kind of weirds me out. I will admit out of love for Mommy Jargon and her sci fi loving fam I have tried but I am not her either.
  • I am not that girl that is a size 2 and proclaims that everyone that isn’t that small just has excuses. I actually want to punch that girl in the face and hand her a doughnut.
  • I can’t just naturally come up with something brilliant. It has always taken me time and effort. One of my university friends skips almost every assigned reading and still kicks ass. I am not her either.
  • I am not that girl that can swear off anything. You know like cussing, food, pop, or fill in the blank. It has to happen naturally or it is like a forbidden fruit. I want it all the time.
  • I wish my house was perfect and always updated, cleaned and smelled nice and be the woman that makes it all happen while keeping everything in tact. I try really hard to keep up the best I can and work and be a good mom, and be a good teacher, and be a wife, and be a good friend and well I am just not her either.
  • I am not that girl that needs the newest car although I do like reliable. It doesn’t have to be shiny or spacey. Good on gas is most important lately.
  • I cannot be involved in every little thing. You know those ladies, you meet them and you hate them. They have to do and be involved in every little thing. I am not sure if they want to for status or want to for themselves.  I am not her either.

Now that I have established what I am not I guess it is time to start thinking about what it is I am. 🙂

3 thoughts on “I am not that girl….not her either.

  1. I am not any of those either if it makes you feel like you’ve got some company on the “I’m not boat”!! Sometimes knowing what you’re not is good, too. It’s part of knowing who you are 🙂

  2. Pingback: Someone finally said it. | Mommy Rhetoric

  3. Pingback: Mommy Rhetoric

Leave a Reply

