Dancing in the rain…

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like it’s heaven on earth.”
― William W. Purkey
I am the mom that let my girls dance in the rain yesterday. I always wanted to be that mom so when the rain started coming down and they looked to me for guidance. I am guessing they expected to hear, “Run, run inside fast.”
Instead, I took a deep breath and looked around and began turning. “You do this” I said. I held my arms up and stuck my tongue out. It made me smile inside and out and it did them too.
I watched as their hair dampened and clothes got wet. They danced and giggled as searched for the rainbow. “Is it there” with a finger in the air. “No” I would shout and point in the other direction. Eventually, we were treated with a double rainbow. My #2 proclaimed, “A double rainbow is super lucky, Momma.” I smiled and said, “It is?” She smiled a confident yes.
There was fifteen minutes of this beauty living in the moment and then it passed but they will always remember as will I.

One thought on “Dancing in the rain…

Leave a Reply

