Mommyjargon Bakes (Occasionally)

I have a love/hate relationship with cooking.  I have spent at least the last year in the hating phase.  I am in the process of trying to turn it back into at least a liking if not loving feeling.

I did make a few desserts this weekend for our two family Easter dinners and I actually did enjoy making them and they were all hits with the family.  The best part was that they were all super easy.  Even the lazy procrastinator in me could learn to love making these kind of desserts!

I needed to make two for my side of the family because my sister-in-law let us know on Saturday she was too busy to bring anything.  I happened to have an angel food cake mix and a can of strawberries in the cupboard- second dessert done!  The other dessert that I had planned to make was a chocolate pie requested by my kiddos.  I used this recipe that I found on Pinterest.  The only difference was that I just used a premade chocolate crust.  It was a huge hit, especially with my newly pregnant niece who was craving chocolate!

For my husband’s side of the family I made this dessert also found on Pinterest.  His mom adores lemon desserts, so I had this picked out for her.  It was also a hit with everyone except my kiddos who shy away from anything lemon except lemonade.

I have been head over heels in love with Pinterest for quite some time so I am hoping that using Pinterest to help me plan my meals and look for new, healthy recipes will help spark some warm, fuzzy feelings for actually preparing the food.  I am also hoping that my kiddos will have a few nice comments for my cooking.  They usually are quite harsh in their critiques of my meals.  This usually leads to me giving up and serving up things like premade fish sticks, chicken nuggets and hot dogs.  Then beating myself up for what a horrible mother I am.

I have also discovered that I must plan out my meals.  I do not do well when I wait until the last minute to decide what we are having.  (I am terrible procrastinator…)

menu board idea

I found this menu planner here.  But I also like this idea too:

I am going to try and make one of these this week and put it into practice!

2 thoughts on “Mommyjargon Bakes (Occasionally)

Leave a Reply

