Make Cookies, Not War

Okay MR readers, did you know Momma can get a little grumpy or say moody? Well I can. This time of the year is the worst. These three-four weeks we are in. My guy’s golf season is starting with long matches and practices. I have all the responsibilities of a graduate student at the end of the semester and a college instructor at the end of the semester. To say things are overwhelmingly busy is not enough because I didn’t even add in my kiddos schedule all of which doesn’t include #3. She doesn’t do anything outside of riding in the taxi at this point.

Well every spring it turns into war around here. It is him saying,  “I need to be here, you have to keep the girls.” Or it is me saying, “I need you to be here, you have to keep the girls.” Every year it takes it toll and thank goodness for being teachers and having summers off because have to spend the rest of the summer forgetting the grumpy ways we treat each other.

Well last year was the worst. We fought over the dumbest stuff that was really more about fighting to fight than fighting for a cause. I often would find myself asking, “What am I even aiming for here other than to say I won?” And really what was I winning? A tension filled home where my guy and I glare at each other at night and forget about it at night while sleeping, we slip in a morning smooch and remember, “Oh yea, I was mad.” It is kind of a sad cycle.

We decided to go for a different approach this year. We are bound and determined to make it work peacefully. He loves coaching golf, I love that he loves it, but the reality is we have little kiddos and I am involved with the college community. We are trying more communication. I really think that is all we needed was to actually talk about our schedules and making time for each other in the midst of it. It is easy to forget your are husband and wife when you are teacher, golf coach, student, mom, dad, cleaner, grocery shopper, taxi driver, bus driver for said golf team and the list really could go on.

Anyway, I decided when I am feeling irritated I promised myself to do something nice for him. Then I get so caught up in the surprise that I forget about the rest or even to give me some leeway when the grumps do coming calling and let’s be honest after I am done with this huge paper and presentation, they will come calling.

So today I baked up some of my mother in law’s chocolate chip cookies. I made a mean chocolate chip before I met my guy but hers just blew mine outta of the water. And I am gonna share it again with all of you. They are so awesome if you like a crisper cookie. Some like them chewy and soft and my old recipe is like that and maybe I will share it today. But since it was for my guy he prefers these. They are crisp on the outside and chewy in the center. YUM!

Momma E.’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup of butter flavored Crisco
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tsp of vanilla
  • 2 eggs

Cream sugars and Crisco and then mix all together all other ingredients until combined (don’t over mix). In separate bowl mix dry ingredients of

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1tsp of baking soda
  • 1tsp of salt
  • 1/2 bag of preferred chocolate chips (they all work even generic

Slowly add in these ingredients a little at a time until the batter comes together. Then spoon onto cookie sheet in preferred size. I usually do like 1 inch rounds and cookie for 8-10 mins. on 375 degrees. Today since they were for the golf team I made smaller ones and did 350 for 7-8 mins.  Cook until the edges just turn golden. The middle will look kind of puffy and maybe even a little raw. But trust me this is the secret. Pull them out. Let them stand on cookie sheet for about 2 minutes and then transfer to a wire cookie rack to cool the rest of the way. They are perfection.

365.156-#2 is home sicky today. Just a cold I think. But her and # 3 helped me to bake up this batch.

2 thoughts on “Make Cookies, Not War

  1. Reblogged this on Mommy Rhetoric and commented:

    Reblogging this recipe because it honestly is the absolute best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever had. I have made it three times for my family since New Year’s. I don’t get to eat them much. but when I do I still love them. My mother in law is the cookie queen!

  2. Pingback: I really did hiatus. | Mommy Rhetoric

Leave a Reply

