MommyJargon’s Weekly Jargon!

Since I usually just post one day a week here at Mommy Rhetoric,  I have an entire 7 days to plot and plan my post.  Well, this week I couldn’t decide on just one topic so here are some random things that have been on my mind or happening in my life.

My cousin was diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer just a few weeks ago.  She had a double mastectomy last week.  They removed several lymph nodes too.  They found cancer in one of them and also her breast bone.  She begins radiation and chemotherapy in a couple weeks.   She is my age and has 3 wonderful kiddos, 2 boys in high school and an 11 year old daughter.  I saw her today and she looks so fantastic that it is hard to believe what she is going through.  She just glowed and was as positive and outgoing as ever.  If you pray, please add her to your prayers.  She is a strong woman, but she is getting ready to walk through Hell.

At the end of one of my daughter’s swim practices, I looked up to see one of my best friends from childhood walk in.  I haven’t seen her in almost 20 (gasp!) years!  She is in town because her father is having quadruple bypass surgery this week.  We ended up spending a few hours today catching up and reminiscing about old times.   When I think that I have my 20 year class reunion coming up this summer it makes me feel SO OLD, but today while we were talking it seemed like those 20 years were only months.  Of course it helped that we decided that neither of us has changed a bit in looks or in weight!

As of today my kiddos only have one week left of school.  I think I am more excited than they are that summer break is so close!  (Even though I get this way every year, I have a sister-in-law that flat out refuses to believe I enjoy summer break with my kiddos.  She says she dreaded it when her kids had school breaks.  I think that is the saddest thing I have ever heard!)  Anyway, I am having a hard time deciding what we are going to do first!  We have so many plans- trips to zoos, museums, the summer reading program, ice cream parlors, craft and science projects (that are just disguised as summer fun), swimming, bonfires, ballgames, and playing with FRIENDS!  I am just giddy!

Another thing I am absolutely giddy about is that Mommy Rhetoric read, finished, and loved the Hunger Games Trilogy!  I absolutely love this girl and we both love books, but we have rarely read similar books.  Now that this invisible literary wall has been torn down I have been racking my brain to think of books to introduce MR to.  I would love to convince her to read the Harry Potter series, I feel that would be a huge accomplishment on my part and that I may even receive some sort of award if I was able to manage it!  For now though I think it best to approach this in baby steps.

So just in case you are looking for some books for the summer, here is a very, very small list of some of my favorite books.

Unwind, Neal Schusterman

Of love and Other Demons, Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger

Sarah’s Key, Tatiana de Rosnay

The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold

Room, Emma Donaghue

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy, Stieg Larsson

The Glass Castle, Jeannette Walls

His Dark Materials Trilogy, Philip Pullman

I am always on the lookout for fantastic books, so please let me know some of your favorites in the comments.  I am planning on doing a lot reading while I am on “lifeguard duty” next to our pool this summer!

One thought on “MommyJargon’s Weekly Jargon!

  1. Pingback: Saturday Sharing… « Mommy Rhetoric

Leave a Reply

