Pin Heavy: But Pin Yummy!

Since summer break happened I have been pin cooking as I call it. There are so many yummy recipes I wanted to try, so now is the time while I actually have time. So hang in there this post will be picture heavy and pin heavy. Hang on for the ride!

PIN27) I am really practicing using the crock pot for softball. Our season, as I have said, is crazy! So I gotta get my act together if I want to feed my family decently. For this pin, I made barbequed chicken in the crock pot from the blog Stick a Fork In It-Crock Pot Barbeque Chicken. I loved this recipe and my chicken was not dry at all like it can sometimes be with crock potting it. It was very reminiscent of ribs in the crock pot to my whole family. The girls complained a little about the heat (spice) but my guy and I loved it. We will do this one again.

First off, get your crock pot ready. For me that means spraying with PAM (I use a healthier version) or place a crock pot liner in it. Pull out 4-5 chicken breasts of decent size or 8 chicken tenders. Add in a bottle of BBQ sauce. I use Sweet Baby Rays-Honey. 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne instead. 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp of garlic. I did add a little h2o because it was too pasty for my liking. The water thinned it out. You could use chicken stock for more flavor but water will work just fine. And cook on low 5-6 hours or so (maybe less if you make tenders).

I have no pictures of this one because it was a softball night which means my family is absolutely ravenous for dinner when we get home. I either feed them or they will eat ice cream till it is gone. It is dire around here then!

PIN28) Was done by #1. She saw it on pinterest and was determined to do it. She pulled the idea from Kevin & Amanda-Make a Ringlet T-shirt Scarf for Fall. She took three shirts that she had. The girl is t-shirt queen. She then precisely cut it just the way the blog instructed and then messed up my whole living room with these bits and pieces of t-shirts. I found pieces of shirt for days. But it did turn out adorable and she had a blast making it. I recommend it for kiddos that have patience to stay with a project. #2 really lacked the patience it took to stay with such a project. #1 tried to sit down with #2 and help her to do it. It ended up with both of them in tears and # 2 decided it didn’t seem so fun after all. It isn’t that it takes so long but it needs concentration and patience.

PIN29) Ha ha, I didn’t even realize my next pinned recipe came from Kevin & Amanda as well. It is Kevin & Amanda’s-Southern Skillet Corn. Homemade creamed corn is something that my family had a lot growing up. So it is a comfort staple for me. I have made a few over the years, but my reliable recipe was horribly fattening cooked in bacon fat. Since I am trying to find a leaner me I went on the look out for a leaner recipe. Now that may not mean it is super healthy. It just means it was not near as fattening as my old recipe with bacon grease as base. What I loved about this recipe is its based was from water.

You need 6 ears of corn with the kernels cut off. After you cut them off the secret to any good cream corn is to get as much starch out of the cob as possible. It helps to thicken and has such a great sweet flavor. I do this by running my sharp knife’s opposite edge alongside it. As pictured below.

Once you have all the corn cut you need to begin to mix your slurry water mixture of: 1 1/2 cups of water, 3 tbsp of flour, 2 tsp of sugar, 1 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp of pepper and so I did not feel deprived of my bacony flavor I added 1/4 tsp of liquid smoke. You get all the flavor of smokey flavor with out the fatty contents. You need to whisk this together.

Then you add your kernels to a skillet that already has melted 3tbsp of butter in it. I ended up pouring my slurry into the bowl of the kernels, so I could get all of the starchy juice I could. Once your corn fries for a bit add in the slurry. You then let it start to boil a bit and then turn it down. It will thicken quick with the water in it so watch it that it doesn’t stick in this time or you will add a burnt flour taste to your creamed corn. Turn as low as you can put a lid on it and cook for 45 minutes. This recipe was so awesome. Now I am not claiming it is healthy, but I am claiming it is healthier than some of your higher fat versions. And it is totally worth making especially when corn is in season!

PIN30) And the last one is my absolute favorite I must admit, but save this for a treat. It is not the type meant to be cooked on a regular basis unless you like that kind of decadence. Me, I like it, but FAT GIRL me does not need this kind of temptation around. PERIOD! I made Get off your butt and…BAKE’s-Creamy Cheesy Potatoes. I was looking for Au Gratin potatoes. I had the best ones back in the day from Gray Brothers Cafeteria in Mooresville, IN. They are so yummy and nothing I have had has even compared. These don’t really either. But these are a bang up version that I will rely on again for functions and what not.

You have to peel and cut up 5-6 regular sized potatoes (I used idaho golds/not reds). When you cut them up they need to be match stick like to match cooking times. My girls confused them with our french fries we make sometimes. They aren’t french fries at all but to them they just looked like a creamy cheesy version. I tossed them into cold water then so they would not discolor. Once you are done slicing strain them and place into a towel to get off all excess water otherwise your dish will be soggy.

Once I placed them into my dish (I used smaller than she called for…for my waists sake). I seasoned with my Paula Deen’s House Seasoning (or old reliable as I should call it). Then I basically halfed her whole recipe. You add 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, 1 cup of cheddar cheese (there is some flexibility here with flavor…go with what you like). She has you put cheese just on top but I wanted it through out that puppy so I just dug my hand in and mixed. I skipped parsley because remember I am a herbaphobe to some herbs. Parsley is usually one of them though I do like it on chicken. Cover with foil and poke holes to vent. Then you bake @ 400 for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

You bake on the bottom rack for the first hour. Then in the last 15 minutes move that baby upto the middle rack and take off that foil. The browner cheesier bits were so yummy by doing this. I will most certainly make this yummy dish again. It was a nice go to for au gratin. Nom, nom!

_____________

Wanna see what else I have pinned? Go here.

3 thoughts on “Pin Heavy: But Pin Yummy!

  1. Pingback: Nom Noms Again. | Mommy Rhetoric

Leave a Reply

