MommyJargon’s Book & Movie Review X2

Do you remember my post last week?  I had a birthday full of great plans, but I did not get to do any one of them.  Heck, I didn’t even get a birthday cake.  (My Hubby did run to Walmart to buy a Reese’s ice cream cake when he realized I was spending the day cake-less.)  The reason my birthday turned into a blah-day is because Hubby and I started to get sick.  He got over his illness pretty quickly, but unfortunately for me, my germs seem to find me comfy and want to stay.

One of the few good things about being sick is that I get to lay around the house and watch movies!  I watched two movies that I have been really wanting to see since reading the books.  They aren’t movies Hubby would like so I have been putting them off for quite awhile.

We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver is a book of letters from Eva to her husband after their son, Kevin, commits a school massacre.  The letters tell her feelings and even things that she has kept hidden from her husband throughout Kevin’s life.

The book was a little hard for me to “get into” at first.  I wasn’t a big fan of Eva’s writing style, language use, or even her personality at first.  I am not usually one to leave a book unfinished though so I kept at it.  By the middle of the book I was hooked.  It became a real page turner at some points and I was definitely emotionally involved.  I liked the book quite a bit, but I cannot say that “I loved it”.  It just isn’t that kind of a book that you can have lovey-dovey feelings for.

I was very excited to see this movie, but I ended up disappointed.  The mom and the dad’s physical appearance were not at all what I had pictured in my head.  The movie didn’t depict some of the scenes from the book that I thought were really important.  I think this movie would somehow even be worse if I hadn’t read the book first.  The movie really focused on Eva and didn’t do a good job on developing the other character’s personalities.  It was just really choppy to me.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay is a book that I absolutely loved.  It is written in one of my favorite formats, every other chapter is about a different time period and people, but yet they slowly become linked together by circumstances.  Of course my favorite chapters were the ones set in the past about Sarah.  Sarah lives in France during WWII and she and her parents are arrested by French police during the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup.

The characters and their stories are fiction, but a lot of the historical information used about the roundup and concentration camps are true.  That makes for a very haunting story, Sarah is a character that stays in your heart for quite awhile.

This movie, available on Netflix for those of you subscribed, was really good.  It focused mostly on Sarah’s portion of the story.  The story of Julia Jarmond, the journalist uncovering Sarah’s story while reporting on the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup’s anniversary is not as in depth as the book and some details are changed, but it does not detract from the movie at all.  For any of you that speak French, there is quite a lot in the movie along with some interesting non-American scenery.

Leave a Reply

