My Sincerest Apologies

“I believe that what we become depends on what our fathers teach us at odd moments, when they aren’t trying to teach us. We are formed by little scraps of wisdom.”
Umberto Eco, Foucault’s Pendulum

If you have sat next to me in the softball stands I apologize now. I am not new to the softball scene. This is our third year. This is the year #1 decided to take it serious (technically the end of last year). But where I am from softball is different. Or maybe it was different here. I am not sure which is more different but I know what I like. Therefore, you probably hear more of my opinion than you want to hear.

In this town you have two important things that qualifies you for softball. Two things that mean more than anything else. Your name and who you know. That has stepped on me twice already just in our regular season. Back where I am from your name helped but skill, it is what got you on the field period.

But remember #1 does travel league as well as recreational league. I don’t know it all, not even close. I wouldn’t act like it either. But I know my share and I have a blog so I can write about it. HA!

Instead my problem is behavior. Parents behavior (my own included at times) and coaches. Tonight I over heard two coaches talking poorly about a player. They didn’t think people could hear, but they did. And it was my daughter they were talking about. And I could tell she heard them.

But how is that right? You know what is special about my daughter? She gets up every morning and wants to practice. We go out and sweat our tuckuses off batting, throwing and pitching. She loves the sport. She plays any position proudly with pride because she is just one of those kiddos who loves the sport and is glad to be on the field. This weekend she had the taste of riding the bench some in her travel league and you know what? She didn’t care. She cheered loud and proud and was grateful to have the opportunity to even be part of the experience.

So I suppose I should try and look to her for how to react. I should worry less about the things I cannot control (others) and remember it isn’t just supposed to be fun for the kiddos playing but the parents in the stands. If I forget this even for a moment and you sit next to me…My sincerest apologies.

Leave a Reply

