I have been cooking my peeps! (part 2)

So yesterday as I said, my brother and sister in law are coming to town. I usually use this time to whip out my made from scratch apple pie. This visit was no different.I have actually made this recipe so much that it just feels natural and I am always so pleased how it turns out every time. It is imperfect because it is from scratch….as in every thing from scratch. But it is perfect. Again if I have shared before amuse me please, I am getting old.

I adapted my recipe from this recipe from Food.com.

Make your crust first…

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 cup of crisco (white-DO NOT USE BUTTER FLAVORED)
  • 1/2 cup of iced down water
  • 1/4 cup of sugar

I omitted the milk because I forgot it once and noticed no difference in this crust and I figured it eliminated some of the extra fat and made it more lactose intolerant friendly for myself. You don’t have to use all the water. Add it to mixture until it starts to come together in one piece. Once you make it place it in the fridge.

Add in your dry ingredients listed below for the filling

  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon (It called for 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and I don’t like nutmeg so this is my substitute)
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 3 tbsp of all purpose flour (original didn’t call for it this but it gets way too runny for my preference if you don’t add a thickner)
  • 1 lemon squeeze over apples to keep from browning
  • 4 granny smith apples and 1 whatever you like that bakes good
  • 1tbsp of butter

Slice apples all same size as much as possible. Mix them all together with above ingredients. Dot with butter all over it. (I prefer butter here but margarine will do)

Then pull out crust and flour a surface like a lot. Add more even if it feels like enough. Get out your roller. Separate into two even sized pieces and place 2nd one back in fridge while you work with the first. Once you get it to 1/2 inch thickness to 3/4’s inch thickness place into the bottom of your pie plate. I don’t ascribe to the fork poking method for this pie. You juices will leak and you will lose all  your yumminess of  your apples. Pour them in.

Then get out your other dough and begin being creative here. I have done all sorts of designs. My favorite is the classic lattice but I have done the first letter of our last name, a fall leave, a circle or just plain vents. Whatever you do you need to make some sort of whole to let out steam.

Place foil over it and bake in the over at 425 for 25 minutes. Turn down to 350 and cook till apples are tender. Usually 45minutes to an hour. Usually I end up just doing 350 for an hour and half. I hate having my oven that high especially on a 100 degree day. You just have to cook longer. In last little bit (15 mins or so) be sure to take off foil so it gets that known golden brown.

Then entertain your little ones if needed.

And get irritated at the guy running the camera. That will make your pie taste extra special, I promise.

And this is what Mommy Rhetoric’s Apple Pie looks like in the end.

2 thoughts on “I have been cooking my peeps! (part 2)

Leave a Reply

