MommyJargon’s Vacation Tales Part II

My second favorite and the most relaxing vacation was when we rented a cottage on Lake Michigan in Northport.  Our cottage was very nice and right on the beach.  We only had Oldest and Middle then and they had so much fun playing on the beach everyday building sand castles.  In the evenings we sat by the fire pit and roasted marshmallows.

I spent the week sitting on the beach and reading almost the entire Harry Potter series.  That is my kind of vacation!

As you can see from the map, Northport is pretty little and not near any larger cities that have things like grocery stores.  So on our way there we stopped at a Meijer  in Traverse City to get the groceries that we were going to need for the week.

You would think that this would not be a big deal.  Yet it turned out to be a very big deal that kind of spoiled my week and is still one of the first things I think about when I look back on this vacation.

You see, we did not go on this vacation alone.

We went with my in-laws.

Back to Meijer.  My mother-in-law and I had already planned out what meals we would eat at the cottage and when we would eat out.  We had our list made out so it should have been a quick, smooth trip.

Except my father-in-law followed us around and majorly complained.  He made snide comments.  He sighed and huffed over everything we said and everything we put in the cart.  My nerves were shot.  Heck, sitting in the car for the past 6 hours with 2 little kids had been easier than that shopping trip!

Here is a small sample:

Him, “This is ridiculous!”  “We don’t even eat that stuff!”

Me, “Why is buying food ridiculous?”  “The kids eat ‘that stuff’.”

Him, “Who is going to eat all of this?”  “How long is this going to take?”  “”What a waste of money!”

Me, “6 people eat a lot.”  “We are trying to hurry, but you keep distracting us with all of your complaints!”  “I am sorry, but it would be a bigger waste of money if we ate out three times a day!”

Him, “I only eat once a day.”  “I am not eating that stuff.”  “Oh! How can we live without those bananas!”

Me, “Well little kids cannot eat only once a day.  They would be super cranky.  Hey!  Maybe that’s your problem!”

It finally ended with me just about shouting, “If this is how you are going to be all week then maybe you should just go back home!”

He finally backed off then and stopped complaining.

I was so ticked off, even my kids were not that annoying in stores.  He was loud, obnoxious and he let everyone around him know that he was upset and that everything we bought was unnecessary.

This vacation has been on my mind a lot lately because in just a couple weeks we are going to do it again.  Different cottage, different location, but same in-laws and also my brother-in-law and his wife too.

To top off my worries, my father-in-law hurt his knee a few weeks ago and can barely walk, he is a ton of pain, and very cranky.  He refuses to go to the doctor, blaming it on all of us saying, “I can’t go to the doctor now!  It is too close to your vacation to get anything done!”

Vacations.  Good times.  Good times.

Leave a Reply

