Where’d my camera go?

I have had the best luck lately with my devices because they are usually with me more than my big and awkward camera. My cell, the HTC Rhyme, takes the most crisp and clear pics ever and  you can fully edit them on it and do whatever you need to do to share. I love this technology.

And my IPAD whatever (don’t know the # and everyone asks) but it is the latest takes awesome pics too. As well as, it has editing enhancements. I don’t use it as much because it is for work. I can buy it for the ripe ol’ price of a dollar if I want it when I am through. But to be honest, I am trying to see it more as a teaching tool in the classroom to make my life easier.

So anyway…I haven’t picked up my camera in over a week. But my cell and my ipad…yup. They capture those moments just as well, if not better!

365.240 – First tomato sammy of the year. I love tomato sandwiches. YUM! While making this guess what kiddo was munching on the other tomatoes? #2. She has fallen in love slowly with them since April. I am so glad! My other two say NO WAY when I ask!

365.241 – Nail art by my girls. I gave an impromptu nail painting lesson to my girlies and their friend. It was fun hour full of giggles and creativity. Doesn’t really get better than that.

365.242 – The Mood for this day matched the weather. I didn’t complain one iota because we are in a horrible drought. I kind of like the constant rolling thunder, the darkness and the time to stay in my jammies all day long. Since I got hired I don’t think I have done this once. My girls consumed a book each and me I watched lots of Rosie Pope. Shhh!

This storm was kind of neat. Thankfully it looked more scary than it was. Our skies turned weird jewel toned yellows and the girls and I kept running out to see what was going on. Nothing really materialized. Big brother started and I forgot about it. Then during a commercial I saw all my neighbors out walking and talking and this is what they were checking out. A freaky storm hitting OH about 5-6 miles from us. We could see it all happening without being a part of it.

365.243-I will let you first look at my photo…And see what kind of conclusion you draw.

That is right I have happily accepted the job of yearbook “What do I call myself ?” One of the selling attractions for me to this job was the emphasis that students and teacher participate in the community that they were building. The model is that there are “clubs” that are student designed and teacher supported. As a teacher you are required to participate in one but can have multiple. When interviewed I was asked about what kind of club would I like to sponsor. My answer without hesitation was publication. I knew yearbook would likely be a part of that and hoped to incorporate my creative writing classes into it as well.

When I would tell people about this aspect of the job I often heard negative because it is what made our day longer in their eyes. We actually work the same it is just shifted later in the Am and the Pm. That is to accommodate these clubs and I love it. What a great opportunity for the students to see beyond themselves and collaborate with both peers and teachers.

So call me in charge of the yearbook. I will take it. GLADLY!

Leave a Reply

