MommyJargon Makes Stuff

I really like to make stuff.  I know how to sew.   Sort of, anyway.  I know how to knit.  I used to teach classes.  I also love all kinds of other crafts- jewelry making, painting, drawing, paper mache, the list goes on and on.  If there is an aisle for it at the craft store I want to do it!

I had a couple of productive weeks as far as craft projects go.   Here are a few things that I made, finished, and took pictures of!  (That last one always being the most difficult to remember to do!)

Here was a plain ‘ol Hanes sweatshirt that I made a little more snazzy.  I found the inspiration for this one on Pinterest.

DSC01335 Mine.    i want!Pinterest.

I went with fewer strips since the sweatshirt was already very purple.  I can always add more strips later if I get bored with it.

I was going to make a circle skirt from this fabric, but once I got started I didn’t have quite enough fabric anymore since I have gone up a size (or two…)  So 2/3 of the skirt is the circle pattern and the front 1/3 is a more narrow wedge.  I really like the result, it lays in a very flattering way.  The only problem is without the extra fabric in the front it is very difficult to get on and off over my hips.  So, I need to add a zipper instead of having just an elastic waste.  If my fabric had some stretch I would have been good though.

DSC01338

I also finished a couple of knitting projects that have been tucked away for a few months.

DSC01342DSC01352

I made the green baby pouf from a free Lion brand pattern and for the large brown and tan pouf I used the same pattern, but doubled my yarn and needle size.  The color block green and white pillow I just made up on my own.

Are you crafty too?  I would love to see pics of the things that you have made- send me a link!

Leave a Reply

