I get it I do, but it is still not okay.

Warning: If you can't handle a little mom brag than move on by this post.

My girls are amazing readers. They have always been amazing readers. My oldest two were reading before pre-school and I can truthfully say that my # 3 read a book to me just last week with a full two days of pre-school under her belt. People ask me what I do and envision my home with a militant ENGLISH teacher mom forcing them to read. And I am not her. I don't. 

Amotherslove
Sure it helps that I am an English teacher. It helps that their parents are educators. It helps that the the third person that they have spent the most time with beyond us is a retired reading teacher (their Grandma). But nothing helps more than the fact that we have raised them all to understand the importance of academics and education. I am not a hoover mother pouncing on every point taken off of their homework and calling the teacher and banging down the door when I disagree with their assessments of my children. Rarely, do I let my career path and motherhood cross paths in my children's classrooms. 

But sometimes it does. And I am in that mode right now and I am trying so very hard not to shove what I know I know down people's faces. I want to. My middle daughter is unique. Her skills set is amazing and off the charts, so when we look at the paper version of her it is easy to decide what she does and does not need. But no child exists in paper. 

So here is the teacher side of me colliding with the Momma side of me. No child in any classroom any where in the world is a piece of paper. No child fits into a perfectly molded tiny box. We have to look at them each individually and decide what they are capable of. I find myself absolutely offended that we (our society) even considers anything less. 

Maybe for her it is placing her into environment that looks at her as an individual not a label and then tell her she needs to fit into that box to keep that label. I call crap. And maybe what I need to just say here is the truth. I don't agree always with the assessments of my daughters. I see numbers, I see a time stamp and I see projected paths. I see a snap shot of that girl sitting there at a computer taking a test at that exact time of day and that is all. Yes sometimes those numbers tell me nice things. But they don't add value to them. 

Instead when I get those numbers, I see the girl at home that struggles socially in massive ways, that skipped a grade, who despite a test saying she can read well above her grade level cannot and a girl that just desparately wants to please her parents who have taught her the value of academics. I deal with that little girl and love her more than life itself. 

That is what I bring to my classroom full of students. I understand that they are special to someone that is sharing them with me for a full year. Trusting that I will protect them and see in them what they maybe cannot see so clear. And that is all I have ever wanted for my children. I want them to have that teacher. That administrator. That piano teacher. That dance teacher. That baby sitter. I want my daughters (and daughter in this specific case) to be more than a piece of paper.

So I guess my response is. I get it I do, but it is still not okay. 

2 thoughts on “I get it I do, but it is still not okay.

Leave a Reply

