Nanowrimo – Say what?

Hey did you know I like to write? Wait no! I love to write. Growing up I wrote all the time. In college, I wrote all the time. Actually it is probably better to say when wasn't I writing? Writing has always been an outlet for me. I cannot really remember a time in my life when I put the pen down or the stopped pushing the keys. 

NanoIn my sophomore year of college (hello 2004) I started hearing of nanowrimo. It is a writing project where you are to write 2000 words daily and by the end of the month you have a novel. A friend asked me to do it with her and I trudged through mostly because we were in a creative writing class together and it helped to tackle some of our assignments.  I didn't always follow the rules, but in the end I did it. I am not 100% sure I am happy with the way my whole novel turned out. But have wanted to do it since but had a few babies, classes and things since then. It slowed me down. From there the idea of it pretty much died and I never really did anything with it again. 

So last year I had a student who tried to do nanowrimo and she wanted me to do it with her. I knew I couldn't. I couldn't because of working full time and a full time graduate schedule. I felt horrible saying no but I promised to encourage her on. Therefore, I knew this year I would have to pony up and do it myself. I had to not let anything else get in my way. 

So when I announced my 20% project in my class I made a promise to her I would do nanowrimo with her. I didn't promise that I would complete it or do the best that I could. But I did promise her that it would be my 20% project and I would try. 

Now November is looming and I am quite excited. I am eager and have been bouncing around characters. And don't be surprised (those that know my writing or have read some of my previous stuff) if Sophie makes a reappearance. She is coming out in the fore front every single time I try and think it all out. 

Alas, I am writing again….get ready!

Leave a Reply

