Saturday Sharing…Migraine Edition

Damn I hate these things. This is a full fledged kick you in your pants migraine. Sometimes I get small ones. Ones that I can easily shoe away with my stash of three designer drugs. Usually the combo of the three all together make it leave. But this one I have maxed out by 6AM on all narcotics I am able to take safely and it is still hanging on. I am not really sure why I have one. 

Migraine Sharing…

But the best migraine treatments I have found (and I have tried everything known to man) is two straight benedryl. The kind that is hot pink or the kind that is half pink and white with a stripe in the middle. Then you climb into bed and call it a day. They knock you off your sleep. 

I have also tried all of the prescription triptan's. My favorite by far is Axert which is ridiculously expensive. It costs around 90 dollars for 6 pills. They work. I have taken two today. Do that math! I also had surgery to try and fix them. No not brain surgery. We have proven that my migraines are a side effect of my hormonal imbalances and flutuations. So we tried to eliminate them. And sometimes when I know they are coming that works. It doesn't ever work mid migraine. It just works if I can anticipate it. The ones that come like they did this AM. No indication what so ever! I take estrogen to maintain healthy hormone levels and it is meh. 

I have also done the all the alternative stuff. Chiropractor does help the most and my hair dressers hair washing massage. Ahhh! But they are temporary and only eliminate the pain in the moment. It is never usually long term. Although my guys chiropractor is promising she can do more help. We shall see. 

Education Sharing…

I am getting ready or have just started the following two novels to teach this week. I started The Giver and will start Night by Elie Wiesel this week. Both books are the kind of books that students read it puts them into an all out engaged in my curriculum stupor. They need that after the tough book that they just read. I strategically place all of my books in certain orders. I have this amazing resource for both of these books. Web English Teacher is one of my favorite resources for my Novels course. As well, I have a graduate cohort teacher friend that teaches at a local high school in our area that has been doing Night before me that shared all of her amazing resources. 

And finally if you have not been to TeachersPayTeachers then you need to go. It is amazing site that often has free stuff. But even the cost stuff is amazing and cheap. I have purchased a lot of materials here and adapted them for my classroom. And there is just something about supporting fellow teachers that I can get behind! I wish I was brave enough to post my lessons on there and make some cash. I am really quite proud of a few of my lessons. 

Recipe Sharing…

So today I am have a joint party with Kpuff. I begged her to use her house and I offered to bring the food and the paper goods. I got the better end of that deal if you ask me. I made some stuff and pre-purchased some of it. But I made a recipe that has been in my in laws family for a long time. I just love it. It is an oldie but a yummy goodie. 

BBQ Weenies and Meatballs

  • 1/3 Cup of Onion (white sweet my preference) 
  • 1/3 Cup of Chopped Green Pepper (I omit because I detest green peppers fresh or cooked)

You saute these in a tbsp of butter until they are translucent. Then add in:

  • 1 regular sized can of campbells tomato soup
  • 2 TBSP of brown sugar
  • 4 tsp of worchestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp of white vinegar (but I bet apple cider would be yummy too) 
  • 1 TBSP of yellow mustard

Add in the meat. You do not have to both or can do more of one or another. I never measure mine. I am quite certain my mother in law does. For me I add them until there is just a bit of sauce left to cover them. So everyone gets to go for a swim. 

  • Meatballs (Premade or Homemade)
  • Hotdogs (tiny cocktail weenies or cut regular size into half inch bite size pieces)

You then can put in an oven safe dish on 350 for 20 mins. Or you can be lazy like me and let it simmer for half an hour on the stove stop. They can also sit in a crockpot on warm and place toothpics by them. They will go quick. 

What I love about this recipe is that is not sweet and sticky like some of these weenie type of bbq recipes. It is tangy and sweet. YUM! 

I have nothing else really to share. It was a three day weekend for me and my students. We had yesterday off for a short lived fall break. But it was so needed. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

