I am me.

Yea yea, I am thankful for all the usual things. And they are all great. But it is the things we don’t talk about that I am thankful for most right now.

I am thankful that I am a woman. Not just a woman. A strong woman. A strong and independent women. I am thankful for the strong and independent women in my life past, present and future. I am thankful I get to raise strong and independent women. I am thankful I get to stand in my classroom and show my students what that even looks like. Some of them have never even heard of the word let alone see it.

F2f58b61d235d066eefa9240d9800a5dI am grateful that I am over the stage where I apologize for being that woman. I am confident in every decision I make and mostly because I make it with my priorities in tip top shape. To quote a friend, “I am thankful I found my voice.” When she said it I thought, “YES!” I stopped listening to my inner critic and society and the need to shut that woman up and tame her down. I let her speak and say what needs to be said.

I am grateful that when I look in the mirror I am proud of what I see and I know when I go to bed at night I will be proud of what I accomplished. And wake up and do it all again! It may be a little or it maybe a lot. But I did it as a woman. I didn’t dumb down my brain, or giggle it away. Or lower my expectations of others or myself to achieve it.  I didn’t curb it to help soothe any egos.

I did and have always done it on my terms. No one said this is who you need to be or told me I needed to ask. No one demanded that I be who they wanted me to be No wait,  they did. And I either told them no or I realized no one who loves you demands you be who they want you to be. They know who you are and love you anyway.

And how could I forget to be grateful to all those that threatened my discovery of this amazing woman I have become? Yea I know you exist and you are out there. I know even more that you are bothered that I began to speak for myself and be this me. To all of you…. Read between these lines _I_!

I am who I am and I speak up for what I believe in. I do things that change the world and sometimes I elect to just stay in my world. No matter what I do. No one tells me what to do unless I made that decision to give them that power. I am a strong and independent woman and damn proud of it.

And all I can say to that and to my former self is….You have come a long way baby! Be proud. Be grateful and carry on!

Leave a Reply

