Saturday Sharing….I am a teacher edition.

Teacher Sharing…

Since I am teacher and since I have been noticeably absent I can tell you that the two relate. I have been in the process of gearing up for all brand spanking new classes. All of my classes are dual credits except for one which means I am balancing 11 grade standards for the state and my districtearly-college-studentsv3 with the college standards I have been appointed to uphold. A task that requires big brain puzzles as I call them. Not impossible not insurmountable but definitely a task. As well, within my classes I have an added structure of another college course for some of the students that struggle with reading. So at anytime I am possibly teaching three different levels or classes. That also means that I possibly have three different students doing three different things. It is differentiation at its finest. I love the challenge. I love that I had two years to work with all of my students to get to this point. I play the nice balance between high school and college.

When I went into this field I went in guns blazing determined to protect what my peers and I call the ivory tower. I was dead set it was my job to determine who entered and who did not. And to extent it is. But being an early college instructor is not quite so simple. I am teaching college rigor and standards. But there is a HUGE BUT. I am teaching it to teenagers. And no I am no pioneer on this front, but I am sensitive to that. I am also sensitive to the fact that my students take quite possibly seven other classes that are dual credit. They do not have traditional college student schedules where they have hours in the day to study. I cannot carry that mentality I did with my college kids that they needed to make time. And yes I believe my students need to do that, but it is far more complex. I am the voice for the university, but I am also an advocate for the early college high school student.

Anyway, I have a theme this year as I do every year. This year I am coming at my writing courses seeing the writer as an architect. It is a theme I found great connection with and feel will hit home with quite a few of my students. This concept is not new. However, it is innovative and will require teaching and understanding on my part and my students. More than anything, I am passionate for my job. I have always let that passion drive me and it has never, ever steered me wrong and I suspect that this year will be no different. Nor will the years to come.

viewEnd of Summer Sharing…

May I suggest a hotel to you? The JWindy.com. My guy took me there as a last of summer Hurrah. I fell in love. It isn’t the type of place you stay all the time. Well it maybe for you. But for us with three kids and well life. We would not traditionally stay somewhere like this. This is the type of place you go if you want to be pampered and escape from the humdrum of life. The price isn’t miserable, but more than your average hotel. But you get what you pay for. The car wash of showers, the robe, the food and oh my goodness the floor to ceiling view. And might I even suggest the higher you stay the better. Since I have moved from Indy I have found myself falling in love all over again with the city I am from. When I grew up in Indy I distinctly remember you didn’t do things downtown. I remember going downtown and seeing homeless people and dirty buildings and places. Within the last 10 years downtown has been revitalized and I feel like this hotel is the diamond on that ring.

You could also tag your hotel stay with a trip across the street to an Indianapolis Indians game if that is your thing. Which for very cheap you can get access to one of the cleanest and neatest ball parks around the midwest. I get spoiled by living in Fort the food at the Tincaps games is amazing and unique. The Indians have traditional ball park food. It is good and it does the trick. But if you are into draught beer than you will love the Indians stadium. The price of seats are decent. The lawn seats seem to me to be the best, most comfortable seats in the place. We have yet to sit there.

Alrighty, I am off to do some more planning. To do some more summering. To do some more hanging out with my girls. Life is good.

 

Leave a Reply

