Almost there!

I have the majority of the fix done and now I am in the last and final week of the fix. It’s purpose was pretty clear from the beginning. It was meant to bring clarity to the way you eat. Especially when it comes to things like “treats”. My best example was seeing Cadbury Eggs, a beloved favorite, containing 160 calories. It seems so small and harmless but when I compared it to my 305 calorie dinner last night of mahi-mahi, whole wheat wild rice, ugly fries (green beans) and roasted potatoes all the sudden you can see how that little “treat” is wrecking havoc on any sort of strides I have been making.

The best and proactive decision I have made to a healthier me was giving up on pepsi. I haven’t had one for almost two and half months I believe. I won’t even consider the idea because I fear I couldn’t control it. I may never feel strong enough again to have it. Before the fix, I had an occasional root beer or sprite. The only time I ever really want a pop is when we are eating dinner out. I hate water when I can’t control it. Maybe in time that will change. But I probably had three before the fix and never felt uncontrollable like I did with pepsi. Again when I place that in comparison to a meal I am currently eating. I was drinking basically a heavy fat meal in pepsi. This decision had nothing to do with a diet or work out program. It was the nagging feeling that I needed to do this and to stop making excuses. That is will power.

The notes I would like to point out that have changed since January 3rd when I made this decision is I feel better. I felt like I was constantly “chasing tail” basically chasing to stay away, get to the next period, next day, or next hour. I don’t feel like that anymore. My tired is a true tired. It is NOT a sugar low. As many of my readers know digestive issues have always long plagued me. I know I am diary intolerant. That feels almost non-existent at this point.

The biggest of all of these changes I have felt in the last three and a half months is the decreasing of migraines and migraine severity. My migraines are very much controlled and centered around hormonal changes. That will not change minus with aging. But what has changed is the severity with which they occur. I have had to take a half a migraine pill in the last three weeks and since January I have taken 2 including my half above. Before I was going between 4-6 pills a month and at 100$ for 6 I am grateful for that.

I also wanted to wait till I met my first goal for weight loss before I shared any stats and alas that goal came this morning on my weekly weigh in. It usually happens on Saturdays which Shaun T deems STATurday. But I forgot yesterday. I am so super proud of these things. Keep in mind not all of this weight loss came from 21 Day Fix. I have been doing T25 for 9 weeks. I also have added in making sure I walk 10,000 steps a day, and I gave up multiple pepsi a day and I had a nasty round of the stomach flu. Since January 3rd, I have lost:

Weight Loss: 20 pounds; Arms: 1 inch; Waist: 4 inches; chest 4 inches; Thighs 3 inches

Total: 20lbs and 12 inches

That is with making a conscious effort of what I am putting into my body. I wish it would come off faster, but when I look at how much that is over almost four months it doesn’t seem so bad. I wouldn’t be able to do any of it if I didn’t have people in my life who didn’t love me and support me no matter what. They accept me for who I am and what exactly my goal and purpose are here. They understand this is about so much more than weight loss for me. It is about focusing time and effort on me. I basically haven’t done that in a year. But I can’t love and support others if I don’t do that first for myself.

Weight

The difference didn’t feel real until I placed this picture from October and put it along side a picture from Friday. I look and feel healthier in the later one. My lady doctor told me I wouldn’t see the entire pepsi weight loss for at least 6-8 months. He said that it will naturally just decline as long as I don’t go back to it and replace it with another empty calorie.

“Eating crappy food isn’t a reward — it’s a punishment.”
Drew Carey

Leave a Reply

