Life interrupted.

3b07eafbcd6f2f44884562b9af736d91

I climbed into a booth for my usual Saturday date night with my guy. We have been doing this almost a half a year at this point. On Saturday night the girls scatter around and we sneak off for a quick dinner out in our dinky town. The chill outside was so cold and temps dropping.

He ordered a beer and I ordered my unsweetened ice tea. They bring the chips and salsa. I look up and his face is motionless. His eyes afraid. I whisper, “What’s the matter?” I get nothing, not even an eye blink.

I get in a bit more of a panic and say, “Are you okay?” But I knew. My heart knew. He held still each of his muscles contracted so as to avoid any sudden movement. He points his finger to his jaw. I look down.

I waited so he didn’t have me staring at him. It felt like awhile and looked back up and said sadly, “Are you okay?” He didn’t say much. Then he said, “That hurt.” I asked if it was eating? He shook his head unsure.

We sat silent for awhile. Both of us knowing what the other was thinking. Is this happening again?  Is eating going to trigger his pain again? I cannot stand silence, so I asked, “Has this been happening?” He said, “Not really.” As he finished that he trailed off….Motionless face. Stiff muscles. Again not even three minutes later. We sat there and he had a few more.

Today continued with some more. I am not sure if it is the cold or the barometric pressure. Both can easily be a trigger. I wonder if it is the stress. We have had some added stress at home with various things. All are triggers. But then it could just be TN because TN works like that. No rhyme, no reason….LIFE interrupted. Time will reveal I guess.

Leave a Reply

