The outside and the inside 

Probably not gonna be the most exciting post I have ever written, but much of my health journey came to some sort of full circle a week ago today. 

As I spoke about in my last post, I under went a laparoscopic surgery last week. In order to have the surgery I had to do pre-surgery testing. My procedure was in a hospital that I have never set foot in. So I was new on the books. Which meant they had to spend a little extra time creating my “new health profile”. 

That was how the very 5am morning started. As we went through each and every question and I answered each and everyone my nurse eventually proclaimed, “You are quite possibly the healthiest person I have ever seen.” 

Then we dive into the my pre-surgery blood work and vitals. She then proclaims, “You are the healthiest person to have seen.” I literally had this surgery as my “blip” on the radar and my occasional need for migraine meds which I have used twice in the last year. 

Yes most of this conversation served as a confirmation of all my hard work both physically and in the kitchen. But it continued. My average blood pressure a ton down from where it averaged a year ago. A mean such a drastic change I didn’t even believe it. 

Those are all physical manifestations of the healthy lifestyle changes I have made. But the confirmations continued. As my nurse goes to put my continuous blood pressure monitoring cuff and iv in she has to go down the the child versions of these because my arm won’t give off a reading in the bp cuff in the adult one and my veins are so small for the larger iv. 

As well, the word “tiny” was used to describe me 8 times. Tiny isn’t really something I care about because healthy is the goal always.  But to hear myself being called “tiny” is so shocking to me. 

  Mentions of tiny were made on the lack of space I took on the surgical bed, transfer bed and the amount 104 degree blankets it took to keep my body warm enough. And finally on how my body fit into the wheelchair as I was led out. 

So yes much of this served to show me my changes were not just on the outside, but the inside. Which I kinda needed because of the forced 10 days of rest. I am on day 7 and I am struggling. I am trying to eat well. I have gained 2lbs. 

I am not too upset about about it because my doctor warned me there will be bloating for upto two weeks. But I am upset about not being able to move more. But in due time! 

I am just grateful I have had the ability to turn my health around so drastically and that I have fully committed to taking care of myself and making me a priority. This surgery definitely is a part of that given I have waited to have it for two years. 

I am hoping I continue to have the will and want to move on and keep myself moving in the right direction. 

Leave a Reply

