About this time last year…

“Perhaps that is where our choice lies — in determining how we will meet the inevitable end of things, and how we will greet each new beginning.”
Elana K. Arnold, Burning

I was hitting the streets in my running shoes on a whim. I saw my guy run and I thought, “Hey, I like to run. If he can. I can.” And I did. I am not the world’s fastest runner, nor do I intend to be. Some people focus on distance and others focus on speed. I think I am more at my own mommy rhetoric jive of fast one day, distance next without purpose or rhyme or reason.

Last year to keep myself moving and focused I played the lyrics to “I am a solider” & “Lose Yourself” by Eminem. For me the words kept me moving forward chugging away at my excess weight both mentally and physically. This year’s theme in my mind are two reoccurring phrases….Purposeful Intention….React with purpose. I have goals both physically, professionally, emotionally and every other ally I can find. If I follow through with the the two phrases I will succeed or at least know I tried.

So today I started my new Hammer Hybrid as I have hashtagged. I am Mommy Rhetoric and I can make up my own hashtags. This am everything that could go wrong did go wrong and I was so very close to saying, “I will start tomorrow.” I am very in tune with the universe and my own spirituality so when things go wrong I take that as divine intervention.

But something in me told me to turn my car around, change my clothes, grab my already packed lunch and say “Not today. I will start this today.” And I did it. I am so glad I did, too. I forget just how colorful eating is on the container program. So many pretty colors and varieties and the flavors.

I don’t intend to share every single meal, but I am sharing today because I am excited and my food was not just amazing….but it was AUUUUUMAZING! I had a shakeology for breakfast, 2 hard boiled eggs. Then for a mid-morning snack a half of an english muffin with 1 tsp of peanut butter and half a banana.

And this is where it gets amazing. For lunch, I prepped salsa chicken (you can find in my 21 day fix days)  yesterday, salsa from scratch, brown rice and black beans. I compiled this all to make a “burrito bowl”. I can tell you right now I won’t ever eat at a Chipolte because of their food issues and my OCD. However, I know how amazing their food was. When I sat down to lunch today I wasn’t expecting much. I figured it may be edible and that was my goal. It tasted just like chipolte. It was so good. I had a salad on the side with ginger dressing. (Brown rice = 1 yellow) (Black beans = 1/4 yellow) (salad = 1 green) (salsa chicken = 1 red) (salsa = green) I can’t remember if salsa is free or a green, but I call it a green.

FullSizeRender (2)

I didn’t stop there either. When I got home in my crock pot I had a lovely pork loin roast in the crock pot to shred for carnitas. I came in the door and took two thin mission corn tortillas and draped them over the oven rack. I shredded my pork, topped with my more from scratch salsa. I placed the meat in the toasted tortillas topped with lettuce, more salsa and 1 tsp of colby jack cheese. I did this twice. (corn tortilla = 1 yellow) (carnita meat = 1 red) (lettuce and salsa = 1 green) and snack tonight was watermelon.

IMG_6145

I also got my three mile run in and Hammer 10 minute abs. I am quite proud of myself for that hard work. But I stuck to the plan, no derailments and no “cheats”. Day # 1 is in the books. I have had a mild headache all day I assume from the sugar consumption that I have experienced the last few days. It isn’t at all not manageable.  I feel great otherwise. And we run on…

Leave a Reply

