Grateful Tuesday? Never heard of it.

Entry # 3

“I may not always be with you 

But when we’re far apart

Remember you will be with me

Right inside my heart”

Marc Wambolt, Poems from the Heart

Blogging about my extended family hasn’t always worked well for me. If anything it has made me super cautious about sharing others stories and being really careful about being sure to lay claim to only my portion of the story.

But Webster and google both define story as: “an account of past events in someone’s life or in the evolution of something”. So my version of the story is my account and mine only. I don’t claim it for others and I wouldn’t.

However, none of that is what this entry is supposed to be about. It is finding gratefulness and gratitude in family or a family member. And my response is just it is complicated, ya know? Do I love my family? Yes, beyond measure. But honestly are they are a part of my every day? Sadly, no. The story of all of that doesn’t belong on the internet. It shouldn’t either.

But I am grateful for a lot of things and my family is one of them. My life has been a journey, as most lives tend to be, of figuring out who I am in this world. That road hasn’t always been easy for me or for my family. I am grateful for the journey though.

I am grateful I know how and why I exist. I am grateful that I am a part of something bigger than me. I am grateful that the journey has provided me with much strength and love along the way. And yes I am even grateful it is complicated. I tend to be one that flourishes in complicated circumstances.

I also see the sunshine through the rain. It is my personality. And all of that wouldn’t happen without my family. Extended. Immediate. Friends that I have made family. My village is and has always been large. Some have passed. Some have just passed on me. Some love what I bring to this world. I am grateful for it all.

Leave a Reply

