I said no.

img_2868

Here is the dealio. I am 18 months into my “less of me” campaign and I think the one lesson I continually have to teach myself over and over and over and over is making myself a priority. I am a wife. Mom. Family member. Friend. Teacher. Student. A human. Many times the lines are not clearly defined on where I start and the rest begin and it is very easy to let them bleed. Ultimately what happens is I end up dead last and exhausted.

I think, “Oh I am still taking time for me by watching netflix.” Then two weeks pass and I am not eating as good as I can be or a I am half assing my work outs. I have to actively say no. I have to say it over and over and over. I have to practice it. My family is the hardest because I know they love me and want to see and be with me.

But the reality is this started as MY REVOLUTION with the base idea that I deserved a half an hour where I am out of commission to everyone else but me. I worked out because the half an hour of sweating, meditating, listening to music gave me the ability to show up 100% every where else.

Moral of the story here to have success you have to demand it. That means don’t give your precious time to people, things and places that don’t give you the same. Give yourself permission to say no. Your family will survive for a half an hour. You friends if they love you will make time when it works for you. Your family the same. Your everything else will fall where it will and you just gotta find a way to be okay with it.

I have been uber stressed, not because of bad things, but because it is the beginning of the school year. Because I have a high schooler, middle schooler and a elementary kiddo. I work a lot. I am a student. Yes I am stressed. But I MUST carve out time because if I don’t take care of me, who will?

Saying NO on the regular, -MR

Leave a Reply

