I actually didn’t freak out.

My kids have finally reached the age where my guy and I can take off for an hour or two for dinner. So we do. Every Saturday in the ol’ E house is date night. We have been doing this really for about the last 6 months. It is a great time for us to catch up from the week and to reconnect.

strength

Our conversations are usually centered around work. Teachers talking shop, you know? Sometimes we offer one another advice and sometimes we share frustrations. But a few weeks ago in our corner booth my guy decided to change the topic of conversation. It starts with, “Don’t freak out but…”

A moment that felt like a lifetime passed. I was mid chip in salsa mode and I looked up at his face. I didn’t have to hear the end of the sentence because I already knew it. The TN. It is always the TN. He said, “My TN. My pain. It is back.” I took a deep breath and ate my chip. A lump came up into my throat and I truthfully wanted to cry…not freak out.

There is one thing I am certain of. He doesn’t complain about his pain, so when he does I know it is serious. I asked how he knew. He said he had been getting the shocks for the last two weeks. That was with his upped dosage of his two TN meds from last May. He said since the surgery the shocks would happen and then he could feel it go numb. He said that is not happening anymore.

He said he added in the third med. The dreaded third med. The one that causes bad side effects. It makes him irritable, tired and like an 80 year old man more than he already is.:D He said he wasn’t getting much relief.

My lump left. I didn’t freak out. We made a plan because he had to go the neuro soon anyway. We go from here. We have had three years to plan for the worst case scenario. We have situated ourselves with work that we can handle whatever comes our way. No I am not sure this is worst case.

I worry more about my girls seeing him struggle. His facial contortions when he has these pains are noticeable. It makes me feel like a lightening bolt shooting through me threatening my safety and security. They scare them too. I have seen them. He has done well hiding it from the girls.

But I didn’t freak out. I am nervous for what this winter brings. He struggles bad when the weather is chaotic and they are predicting chaos this winter. But I feel in control this time. I feel like we are much more educated. We know at what point to take the pain more seriously. I truly worry about the side effects of the med stealing my guy away from us more than anything.

Leave a Reply

